Delivery day

Being loaded at Cornish Crabbers, Rock, nr Padstow

Being loaded at Cornish Crabbers, Rock, nr Padstow

It was a long day. The journey for me commenced a 5am, and shortly afterwards I’d collected my brother-in-law as he needed a lift to Redruth to collect a vehicle. Traffic was fairly light on the fog strewn M5, and we made good time, arriving at Cornish Crabbers premises in Rock just after 9am. ‘Lucy’ was already being lowered onto the Anderson’s Transport low loader.

There was the small matter of me handing over a few quid to Peter Thomas, and being handed a substantial file of boat related document in part return. And then we were off. ‘Lucy’ set off to Mylor, and I joined her some time later having dropped Stu in Redruth.

Arrival at Mylor Yacht Harbour

Arrival at Mylor Yacht Harbour

I have lot of admiration for people who can drive a wagon of that size to a place like Mylor. It was nerve wracking enough towing Zephyr along those narrow lanes, and I was delighted to hear from my friend Steve that she had arrived. I was still driving there, and he took these photographs and texted them to me.

Our new club, Mylor Yacht Club, in the background

Our new club, Mylor Yacht Club, in the background

Being unloaded by Mylor's huge hoist

Being unloaded by Mylor’s huge hoist

The driver somehow managed to turn around, and ‘Lucy’ was easily lifted by Mylor’s mobile crane. The Anderson’s lorry left, and ‘Lucy’ was lowered onto a Mylor cradle, and then moved up into the yard.

Safely in the cradle at Mylor

Safely in the cradle at Mylor

She now awaits having her red anti-foul blasted off, and the hull made good ready to receive Coppercoat. I was back today, armed with screwdrivers, to have a good poke around internally. I removed some wooden bits which could do with re-varnishing, and they will be done at home in the next couple of weeks. I also lifted the hatch in the cockpit sole, to uncover the bilges and discover that the heater exhaust pipe has broken loose and fallen below the propshaft. I’ve asked Mylor Project Manager, Henry, to have a look at getting that fixed up for me.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

