Beta 20

engineThat red lump of metal is Lucy’s diesel engine. I have to admit to not knowing a great deal about engines, so this post is going to lack gravitas, and anything of use. It’s big, and it’s heavy. It would also have been quite a struggle to fit it in such a gap. That’s about as much as I know.

The original engine, fitted in 1990, would have been a Yanmar 1GM10 – rated at about 9hp. This Beta 20, fitted in November 2010, is rated at, funnily enough, 20hp. The former was single cylinder, the latter three cylinder. By now you should have got the idea that the Beta 20 is quite an improvement on what was there before, and when you factor in the 16″ Darglow Featherstream propeller this is quite a combination, and should last me for decades if I look after it.

Thinking about it, I shouldn’t really be setting off ‘to sea’ with an engine and no idea how to look after it. Therefore, on Tuesday, I’m booked on a full day RYA Diesel Engine course at Seastart at Hamble Point, nr Southampton. The course literature says,

“designed to give you an insight into how your engine works and how to look after it. The course  also examines what measures can be taken to avoid possible breakdowns. It won’t however make you a marine engineer!”

 

Hopefully, by this time next week, I’ll be able to point at bits of the engine and know a) what they’re called, and b) what they do. I’ll report back.

 

 

One thought on “Beta 20

  1. Like you I know bu**er all about engines! :o) I’ve picked stuff up as I go along… i did an outboard familiarisation course a few years ago with Stormforce in Southampton but the biggest problem I had was that they used a big four stroke engine todemonstrate, and I have a small two stroke!

Leave a Reply

