Like a new penny

It’s what Steve said Lucy looked like – a shiny, new copper penny.

copper4

This is Coppercoat, and, hopefully, it’s going to keep Lucy free from weed, barnacles, etc, for 10 to 15 years. It should mean that I won’t have to pay to have her lifted out each year and re-antifouled. This is an investment which will take about five years to break even, and thereafter should save me about £400 per year. Lifting out at Mylor is £115, and then the same to put back. Then there’s storage ashore to pay for. Then there’s preparing for anti-foul, then buying and applying anti-foul. It can be a messy business. I’m glad I won’t be getting involved with it. I’ll just need to dry out against a wall once a year and jetwash the underside. I’ll probably look to do it twice a year, and on the same day service the Featherstream prop and seacocks. Drying alongside the wall costs £30 at Mylor for one tide – which should be plenty of time.

copper1 copper2 copper3

6 thoughts on “Like a new penny

    • Thanks Steve. She looked decidedly unwanted and forlorn when we first saw her. She’ll be superb once the wraps come off, the boot top painted and her name added to the stern.

  1. Russell

    I think the conventional wisdom is to have the boat out of the water for a few weeks a year albeit with a new coat of gelshield and copper coat (which is epoxy), any potential for osmosis is minimised. Most people (for obvious reasons) take their boats out for the winter months. Unfortunately that is the wrong time to do it, as the atmosphere is more damp and the temperature differential between the inside and the outer hull is at its greatest, so there is a much greater chance of mould/mildew. Obviously if the boat is in the water it has a much more constant temperature and suffers less. I think, ideally, leave it in through the winter, lift it for a couple of weeks in the late spring or summer between uses, do the prop, anodes, stern gland, engine service and impeller, then put her back in.

    • I might take it out for a while in a couple of years time, but in the meantime I plan to use her. I’ve spent many a winter day sailing dinghys, and ending up in the water. Lucy is a great big floating caravan – with heating!

  2. The result looks very impressive, and people I know with Coper Coat speak very highly of it. I wish now that I had gone down that route when I had the chance. In terms of economics,
    Simon is right, and once the penny dropped for me I began taking Nellie B out of the water for March and April. This has worked well for the last couple of years, although the total lack of a Spring this year was less than ideal! This being said, given that Lucy has been out of the water for so long, and you have now had her epoxied, you might well be able to take her out in alternate Springs.

Leave a Reply

